6 Comments
May 25, 2022Liked by Montana Classical College

The good:

The quality of my education rested almost entirely on the instructor. I learned very quickly to choose instructor first, and subject second. I was fortunate to have a few really good instructors, but none that were amazing, and certainly none that encouraged rigorous original thought.

The best part of my education was that it provided me with the requisite intellectual tools to think clearly, read carefully, and write concisely (I still struggle with this one...). These are things that one can learn independently, but my undergraduate education fast-tracked this learning. I say 'undergraduate education', but I should really specify Philosophy. In my experience Humanities, as a general field of study, was too susceptible to nonsensical maniacal pseudo-intellectuals. Philosophy was one of the few subjects I came across that seemed to be a hold-out of rational thought. That has since changed since graduating, and my alma mater looks like it has almost fully embraced the new religion. I suppose it was inevitable, but I think Philosophy, especially analytic philosophy, had a sort of shield that prevented its immediate usurpation, that shield being Logic.

Logic, especially informal logic, was one of the most useful things I learned in college, and it's a tool that proves its usefulness daily. I had a few philosophy professors who were masters of logic, and could quickly analyze and dissect arguments. These profs passed along some of their skills, and provided me with a strong basis from which I could pursue my own intellectual interests.

I also had professors who let me think freely, though some were more restrictive than others. I tended to use the recommended readings as a springboard for my own thoughts, and I had professors who were somewhat forgiving of my self-indulgent approach to academic philosophy. This would not fly in graduate school, and certainly not in "professional" philosophy, but looking back it was good that I was allowed this freedom to speak and write driven by my own thoughts.

Another good thing about college was the freedom to choose my courses. My program provided ample space for electives, and even required courses usually gave many options. I think it's important to scratch your intellectual itches, especially when you're young, and I was fortunate that I could study many other subjects, often completely unrelated to my major. I was at a relatively large college, so there were tons of subjects available.

The bad:

I had some good philosophy professors, but there were a few who were bad.

I was happy to be able to take courses outside of my major, but I was reminded early on in my degree why I chose the major that I did, namely because the other subjects were almost completely taken over by crazy ideas. I didn't see the world the why I do now back then, but still, even at the time I was shocked by the 'Woke' infiltration at the time.

I was also really discouraged by the complete lack of passion I saw in many professors. These profs were teaching hundreds of students at a time, and they had no interest anymore; the spark was gone.

As much as the profs bothered me, perhaps the bigger issue was the mass swarms of uninterested students bumbling around campus. In any given class, about 50% of students had no business being in a university. I certainly wasn't a super student, but I think an interest in ideas is a bare minimum for pursuing university education. But the modern education system is basically just a hoop that the masses stumble though to signal compliance to their future employers.

I also found that grading systems weren't very meritocratic. I found that my hard work wouldn't give me much more benefit than moderate work.

The ugly:

Instructors explicitly saying that white men are to blame for all the problems in the world, and other assorted nonsense like that.

The campus of my particular college was hideous.

Swarms of people (it was a big college) everywhere all the time. It was gross.

Gross fashion (even pretty girls can't really pull off sweatpants).

Campus food was terrible.

Dealing with administration was awful.

In summary: the University is no longer a place for intelligent curious people. University education is considered a right for midwits and dimwits alike; it's a place where students are branded with the state religion.

Expand full comment
Jun 1, 2022Liked by Montana Classical College

"I also found that grading systems weren't very meritocratic. I found that my hard work wouldn't give me much more benefit than moderate work."

I have also found this to be the case, especially with classes falling under liberal arts, classical civ. or philosophy courses.

Also I at my university philosophy is all but dead. I've had a friend suggest I get a Phil. major but seeing as only a handful of professors out the entire department weren't intellectually tainted by modernity, I was unwilling to make the switch.

A professor of mine last semester, did her political philosophy phd thesis on why the constitutional right to vote should be given to felons and how it was racist not to.

Expand full comment
May 25, 2022·edited May 25, 2022Liked by Montana Classical College

I attended an American state university very well regarded for several of its graduate programs in Real Hard Sciences And Medicine. As an undergrad, to say that I was extremely disappointed almost immediately in the lack of intellectual rigor and opportunities available to me is an understatement. 100 level courses were conducted in massive lecture halls with hardly any ability to engage with the professors - that's what graduate students, who may or may not have studied the subject in question, were for. Nor would one generally care to speak with the professors at that level - it wasn't unusual for them to close their eyes and recite, rote, a lecture they had given dozens of times.

There were exceptions, but they were few and far between. Most 200 level courses were conducted exclusively by graduate students, as were some 300 level courses - fortunately at that level they were familiar with the material. 300 level and 400 level courses were conducted by full professors in smaller settings, and were generally engaging and interesting.

This was some time ago, but even then the instructors were largely doctrinaire and ideological. That said, at the time the staff was generally accommodating to student inquiry and even making ideological mistakes, so long as the focus was on the work. They would grant more leeway to co-ideologues, but I had an (innocent) incident in a class that led to an ADMINISTRATIVE ATTAQ by another student upon me that would have gotten me expelled probably any time post-2010.

Graduation was a relief and I have not wanted anything to do with academia since, although when I visited my brother's small private college for his graduation some years later, it seemed like a much better environment that would have suited me. In the big state schools, nobody looks out for you, and the administration sees undergrads as annoyances tolerated for revenue purposes, and they dish out incorrect advice regularly. Boo

Expand full comment
May 25, 2022Liked by Montana Classical College

I graduated in the UK in 2010 and won't name the University but it was regarded as one of the more 'conservative' - UK social life has 'Societies' it was not until the year I was leaving I saw frumpy feminist types trying to start a 'feminist society'. I'm sure that kind of thing has accelerated quite rapidly. That is just an observation of how students organize and act themselves.

In terms of Professors, I recall only one new one - she was teaching a course on African history and tried to do some lectures on 'feminist history' - I recall being very disruptive about this and challenging her in a rather passive environment. The Professor liked me and I had no negative consequences on that.

There was not really a hint of wokeness or anything present beyond that, the other lecturers/professors I had a lot were older. The UK system when I went through it, and probably still, is largely very lecture light in the humanities. I had maybe 6 hours of lectures a week in my final year, the rest is expected to be self study. This environment probably lowers indoctrination a bit.

Another anecdotal observation when visiting my old college years later was how many kids had laptops. When I was graduating I was one of maybe 2 who brought a laptop to class. The technolgical influence was not present, smart phones not really a thing yet for most of it either. Both are propaganda spreaders.

Expand full comment

I graduated hs in 2013, but am only now drudging through the American university. I have couple years to go but so far I've had multiple openly communist professors (one whom boasted he still had his original American Comm. Party card from the 60s) and redistribution of wealth and the 'importance of equity' has even made its way into my micro and macro economics courses. Likewise my Literature and Ancient Greek classes are led by pinko professors with personal beef against Aristophanes and Tocqueville. The only saving grace for me so far is my classes in the hard sciences.

Expand full comment
author

You left an interesting comment on the most recent essay but it looks like it got deleted. You should email me or send me a dm on twitter so that I can reply.

Expand full comment